Deontay Wilder gets new opponent for August 4 fight

With Kelvin Price forced to withdraw from his August 4 fight with unbeaten Deontay “Bronze Bomber” Wilder due to a rib injury, Trinidad and Tobago’s Kertson “Warrior” Manswell has answered the call to face the 2008 Olympic Bronze Medal winner in a heavyweight slugfest at the Mobile Civic Center Arena Expo Hall in Mobile, Alabama that will be televised live on FOX Sports Net and FOX Deportes.

26-year-old Deontay Wilder (23-0, 23 KO’s) put his hometown of Tuscaloosa, Alabama on the boxing map in 2008 when he earned a Bronze Medal at the Beijing Olympics as the only United States boxer to medal at the games. Later that year, he turned professional with a second round technical knockout over Ethan Cox. Since then, no one has gotten out of the fourth round against the exciting knockout artist. He has gone 3-0 in 2012 thus far, with his most recent win over former world title challenger Owen Beck proving that he’s ready for prime time. Wilder is not about to let his fans in Alabama down on August 4 against Manswell.

A seasoned amateur who won several medals at the international level, Kertson Manswell (22-5, 17 KO’s) has power and tenacity in the ring, and he plans on using those tools as he looks to hand Wilder his first pro loss. The owner of nine first round knockouts, the hard-hitting 35-year old has faced off against Ruslan Chagaev, Cedric Boswell and Bermane Stiverne during his eight year career, making him confident that he has the experience necessary to emerge victorious on August 4.

Wilder vs. Manswell is presented by Golden Boy Promotions and sponsored by Corona, DeWalt Tools and the Mobile Sports Authority. Doors open at 6:00 p.m. CT on fight night and the first bell rings at 7:00 p.m. CT. The FOX Sports Net and FOX Deportes bilingual simulcast will air live at 10:00 p.m. ET/9:00 p.m. CT/7:00 p.m. PT.  FUEL TV will telecast the fight on Sunday, September 30 at 12:00 p.m. ET/9:00 a.m. PT.

Tickets, priced at $77, $42 and $22, are on sale now and available for purchase at the Mobile Civic Center Box Office and by calling (251) 208-7906 or via Ticketmaster at (800) 745-3000 or at ticketmaster.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*