Home News Unbeaten light heavyweight Joseph Williams signs with DiBella

Unbeaten light heavyweight Joseph Williams signs with DiBella

Credit: DiBella Entertainment

With much attention in boxing focused on the light heavyweight division, DiBella Entertainment has continued to build up its roster, most recently adding to its stable by signing undefeated light heavyweight prospect Joseph Williams (10-0, 7KOs), of Far Rockaway, Queens, NY.

“I am very happy to have signed with Lou DiBella,” said Williams. “My team and I believe that I have the ability to become the best light heavyweight in all of boxing. I know that Lou will provide me the platform and the opportunities to accomplish that.”

Williams, 28, was a decorated amateur, winning the 2012 National Golden Gloves, competing at the 2012 Olympic box-offs, and serving as an alternate at the London Olympics for the United States. Williams was also a three-time New York Golden Gloves champion in addition to competing in the 2011 Amateur World Championships.

Williams is coming off of a unanimous decision victory over previously undefeated Chris Harris at the brand new Ford Amphitheater in Coney Island on the undercard of Errol Spence Jr.’s knockout victory over Leonard Bundu on August 21. Following his victory, DBE signed Williams to an exclusive long-term promotional agreement, accompanied by high expectations.

“Having seen Williams fight a few times, I am very impressed,” said DiBella. “He is a big, strong kid and has tremendous power in both hands. He is managed by my good friend David McWater and we feel that Joseph has the potential to do big things in his career.”

“We couldn’t be happier or more excited to work with Lou,” said manager David McWater. “It is only fitting that I sign the best light heavyweight out of New York with the premier promoter, not only in New York, but on the entire East Coast.”

The signing of Williams adds to an already impressive roster of light heavyweights for DBE, which includes such fighters as Edwin Rodriguez (28-2, 19KOs), Cedric Agnew (28-2, 14KOs), Radivoje Kalajdzic (21-1, 14KOs), Mike Lee (17-0, 10KOs), Luis Garcia (14-0, 11KOs), Lenin Castillo (15-0-1, 10KOs) and Travis Peterkin (16-0-1, 7KOs).