Home Columns Why Floyd Mayweather is no longer our 154 lbs champion

Why Floyd Mayweather is no longer our 154 lbs champion

Credit: Stephanie Trapp / Showtime

Floyd Mayweather is undoubtedly a unique fighter. So unique, in fact, that here at ProBoxing-Fans.com we had him reigning over two divisions simultaneously, Welterweight and Junior Middleweight. However, that’s no longer the case. Our 154 lbs. division championship has been vacated, creating a void in that division, and relegating Mayweather to single-division status just like everyone else. Here’s why.

Earlier this year, we revealed our very own Championship system and corresponding ratings policies. One of our rules states that a championship becomes vacant when:

The champion does not defend his title against a top 10 contender within 18 months or does not face a top 10 contender in his division in three successive fights.

Mayweather had been hopping around from 147 to 154 lbs. He won the Junior Middleweight crown by defeating Miguel Cotto. Then he came back down to face Robert Guerrero, and then moved right back up to square off against Canelo Alvarez.

[View all of the ProBoxing-Fans.com Divisional Champions.]

The Canelo fight though was his last in the Junior Middleweight division, and it took place in September 2013. That technically gives Mayweather through March 2015 to face a top 10 fighter in the division and retain his championship. Except we all know that’s not happening. Mayweather will be fighting in May, as per usual, and it looks increasingly more like he’ll be sticking to the Welterweight scene and facing perhaps Amir Khan or (gasp) Manny Pacquiao.

Mayweather’s not the only fighter we’ve stripped, either. At Cruiserweight, long-time champ Yoan Pablo Hernandez hasn’t mixed it up with a top 10 opponent since fighting Troy Ross in December 2012. Some injuries kept him on the shelf for a bit, but his fringe opposition could no longer make the cut, especially not in a division with Marco Huck already nipping at his heels.

Other notable changes to our Champions include Terence Crawford being installed as our Lightweight champ, and Nicholas Walters taking over the throne at Featherweight. In the former case, Crawford won the vacant title by besting Raymundo Beltran. Unfortunately, Crawford is likely moving right up to 140 lbs, so the Lightweight Championship will go right back to being vacant yet again. In the latter case, Walters kayoed Nonito Donaire to win his crown.

As for Junior Middleweight, the division is wide open. Mayweather is residing solely at Welterweight, and Canelo is moving to Middleweight, along with Demetrius Andrade. That leaves Erislandy Lara as the presumptive top dog, but he may decide to chase greener pastures at 160 lbs as well.

Back to the point, we’re sorry Mayweather — but now you’re just like every other one-division-at-a-time champ.